Fredericton Senior Royals Baseball

Coaching Staff finalizes Roster …..

The 2013 version of the Fredericton Peterbilt DQ Royals has been finalized.  Coaches Mike Lint, Jamie Estey and Paul Hornibrook made final decisions this past Saturday afternoon.

23 players made their way out for 17 roster spots – making decisions tough for the coaching staff.

On Paper the 2013 roster looks like 1 of the strongest the team has fielded in many years as they seek their 7th Championship in 8 years.  It is a team built to score a lot of runs – adding former MLB Power hitting star Matt Stairs, senior baseball home run king Derek Wilson and NCAA College star Mike Washburn back for full seasons – complimenting Triplecrown winners David Barr and Jody Peterson and the veteran laden squad.

Pitching is deep – with young arms Dan Murphy, Jake Waugh and Troy Bishop emerging as senior stars giving the veteran leaders Steven McCarty, Jay Magee and Derek Wilson opportunities to stay rested and fresh for the long playoff and National grind in late August – September.   A solid relief core of Joel Arbeau and rookie Cody Wiggins figure to share the middle innings while hard throwing short inning specialist Phil ‘Digger’ Merrill anchors the late innings.

2013 Royals Roster


#6 – Troy Bishop
#7 – Jay Magee
#8 – Cody Wiggins
#10 – Derek Wilson
#15 – Jake Waugh
#21 – Dan Murphy
#23 – Steve McCarty
#25 – Joel Arbeau
#38 – Phil Merrill


#3 – Jody Peterson
#44 – Mark MacNevin


#10 – Derek Wilson
#22 – John Burns
#23 – Steve McCarty
#29 – Mike Washburn
#38 – Phil Merrill
#71 – Chris Sorensen


#9 – Dave Barr
#11 – Corey Stairs
#12 – Matt Stairs
#25 – Joel Arbeau